Gingerbread Friends

I sat down for quite a while, probably about 15 minutes, maybe half an hour even, just picking nice colours, that went well together and that I thought would look kinda cool together. Then ripped them into smallish pieces and placed them in piles, in their own colours.


Happy Monday everyone!

Welcome to the mish mash when making meets baking – basically I wanted to do some decoupaging, and then I had planned on making a second lot of gingerbread (I made some recently) so I thought why not squeeze them in to one thing? And I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

I actually forgot to photograph the box shape container, but I did remember to photograph this other cylinder which was going to be a pencil pot so at least you can see how I did it, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

I sat down for quite a while, probably about 15 minutes, maybe half an hour even, just picking nice colours, that went well together and that I thought would look kinda cool together. Then ripped them into smallish pieces and placed them in piles, in their own colours.

I think sorting out the magazine in to colours was the best decision I made all day (ok, overreaction) because I could space out the colours easilier more easily. I also added a bit of water, well a lot of water so had to tip some away because I kinda drowned the poor glue. ๐Ÿ™‚

img_5565

I began by pasting on the glue and magazine pieces to the cardboard, and whenever I reached the edges, you simply fold it over so it looks smooth and great! The box for my gingerbreads had flaps, which I cut off so they didn’t get in the way. I had also chosen a few little pictures from the magazines too to cut out and blend them into the patterns.

img_5573img_5566img_5567img_5569

When you add PVA glue on top of the whole thing, it will dry with a shiny finish, and I think looks really good for decoupage.

Finally, I cut a piece of greaseproof paper and fitted that in to the box once everything was dry (just in case grease comes off, crumbs or just if you’re not sure whether it is clean enough).

img_5579img_5578

Then I popped into the kitchen to cook these little fellas. I found a gingerbread recipe the first time I made these, and i was really super good, so I stuck with it. Once all the ingredients were out the cupboard (I couldn’t resist having a little taste of the syrup…) I could get started.

img_5576

The time seemed to go super quickly, but I thought I had made the actual mixture quite speedily. Once they were all cut out and on the trays, they went in the oven, but I had to do three batches because I didn’t have enough trays! Agh! Honestly, there were gingerbread EVERYWHERE, they were on the worktop and the cooling rack, and in the oven all at once! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

img_5577img_5582img_5580img_5585

I hope you like them and you should have a go at something similar yourself! Have an amazing day whatever you’re doing. ๐Ÿ™‚

fullsizerender15

img_5557
Remember this little guy? ๐Ÿ™‚

Busy ‘bready baking,

Tabi

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

