5 Young Adult Fiction to read before Christmas!

I love all the amazing YA fiction out there, and when I do find a really great book that I like, I will read and read for so long, literally in a world of my own! But to be so engrossed in these books, you’re gonna need some recommendations, am I right? 🙂 To read before the 25th!

Hello everyboddyy and all you little bookworms!

For the 9th day of Blogmas, I decided to do a booky post…plus it is exactly 4 months of Busy Bee…PLUS it is the 150th post! Yay! 🙂

I won’t read for a while if I don’t have a good book, because I just don’t feel inspired, is it just me that does that? But then when I find the best, engrossing book, I will be curled up for hours just reading page after page- and enjoy it so much! But you have to have a good book to do this, and so I thought as I haven’t posted anything to do with books (that I can remmeber) , why don’t I make one now? Especially in the run up to Christmas when all you want to do is curl up with a good old Young adult fiction!

I included the blurbs and why I liked it, just random things about these lovely jubbly books!

Goodbye Stranger-Rebecca Stead


Firstly I chose Goodbye Stranger, mainly because it is such a good, but quite short read. And I don’t know about you, but sometimes (especially after you’ve just read a door wedge of a book) but I quite like books that aren’t super long and will only take you a week or so. This book is around 280 pages long, and so it is quite a good length. I love the way it is written aswell! You follow the crazy friendships of three girls, and I just loved every page, and so if you are in to stories about young girls and their struggles with friends and school, you will definitely like this book!

The Blurb:

‘Thirteen broken bones and a punctured lung. You must have been put on this earth for a reason, to have survived it.’

Bridge is an oddball. She is a doodler. She wears black halloween cat ears every day. And she survived a serious accident when she was younger.

Ever since she missed a year of school to recover, she’s found fitting in with her best friends Emily and Tabitha difficult. They promised never to fight, but that’s hard when they start keeping secrets from each other.

Sherm wants to get to know Bridge better. But he’s also hiding a secret. And then there is another mystery girl, who is struggling with an even more serious problem…

A bittersweet story about friendship, fall-outs, and finding your own way.

*sobs*

How Not to Disappear-Clare Furniss


This book was utterly moving, I was so hooked by every page and it is very moving. The way it is written is incredible and very touching (I nearly cried!), about a girl, Hattie and an old woman struggling with dementia who is very defiant. This is probably the most memorable book here, just because it felt so real, and I loved it to bits, anyone who likes teen fiction would love this in my opinion, and I think everyone should read it.

The Blurb…

Our memories are what make us who we are. Some are real. Some are made up. But they are the stories that tell us who we are. Without them we are nobody.

Hattie’s summer isn’t going as planned. Her two best friends have abandoned her: Reuben’s run off to Europe to ‘find himself’ and Kat’s in Edinburgh with her new girlfriend. Meanwhile Hattie is stuck babysitting her twin siblings and dealing with endless drama around her mum’s wedding. Oh, and she’s just discovered that she’s pregnant with Reuben’s baby…

Then Gloria, Hattie’s great-aunt who no one even knew existed, comes crashing into her life. Gloria’s fiercely independant, rather too fond of a gin sling and is in the early stages of dementia. Together the two of them set out on a road trip of self-discovery- Gloria to finally confront the secrets of her past before they are wiped from her memory forever and Hattie to face the hard choices that will determine her future…

Apple and Rain- sarah Crossan


I was in love with how this is written – down to earth and honest. It isn’t too legthy and I enjoyed the ‘realness’ of family life so much. The ups and downs of Apple’s life living with her mother is bittersweet…Such a lovely book to read, I especially enjoyed this one – it only took me a few days!

The blurb…

A Story about

Sad Endings

A Story about

Happy Beginnings

A Story to make you realise

Who is Special

When Apple’s mother returns after eleven years away, Apple feels whole again. She will have an answer to her burning question – why did you go? But just like the stormy Christmas Eve when she left, her mother’s homecoming is bitter sweet. It’s only when Apple meets someone more lost than she is, that she begins to see things as they really are.

Beautiful Broken Things – Sara Barnard


I was brave, she was reckless, we were trouble.

My fourth book I chose was such a deep and compelling read. I found myself saying ‘I’ll just read to the end of chapter two…’ and then ending up reading half the book! The story was incredibly well written, so that you follow the characters with your mouth gaping open, wondering what will happen next. The two inseperable friends, Caddy and Rosie were never apart, but then someone else comes into the picture, which drives the two apart…I was truly gripped!

The Blurb…

Caddy and Rosie have always been inseperable. But that was before Suzanne.

Now Caddy wants to be more than just the quiet one. She wants something to happen.

I was Brave…

Suzanne is trying to escape her past and be someone different. Someone free.

She was reckless…

But sometimes downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

We were trouble…

And no one can break your heart like a best friend.

Noughts and Crosses – Malorie Blackman


This must be one of the best and most well written books I have read for a REALLY long time! It is a thick book, but you don’t notice because you read through it super quick, just because the main characters, Callum and Sephy, are like people you know. This is actually part of a series of four, and every one of them had me fixed. i would encourage everyone to read these. Truly incredible and an incredible journey.

The Blurb…

Callum is a nought – an inferior white citizen in a society controlled by the black Crosses.

Sephy is a cross – and the daughter of one of the most powerful, ruthless men in the country.

In their hostile, violent world, Noughts and Crosses simply don’t mix. But when Sephy and Callum’s childhood friendship grows into passionate love, they’re determined to find a way to be together.

And then the bomb explodes…

I hope you enjoyed this post, I know it is a liddle bit different than the usual crafty mess, so I hope you liked my reviews, because I urge you to read these books!

Happy reading,

img_5609-3

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com


That ‘importanty’ bit…

I use Piccollage and Tayasui Sketches Pro for the heart signature thingy…!

I camera snap on Sony HX400v

I am posting every day until Christmas! – Blogmas! 🙂

You lovely lot are amazing, keep blogging and doing what you love! ❤

One thought on “5 Young Adult Fiction to read before Christmas!

Leave a Reply

