Mini Christmas Gingerbread Village!

Three little mini gingerbread houses with a dusting of icing sugar, glued together with icing and off-cut trees and smarties scattered about, this is the cutest Christmas bake! it didn’t go completely to plan and looks so messy-but it’s the taste that counts, and they tasted HEAVENLY!


Hello again my little bakers!

It’s the 17th day of Busy Blogmas

I love cooking and baking for fun – but I fail. A lot.

So I thought I would give it another shot! I guess I was slightly…ambitious in making mini gingerbread houses, but I know how I went wrong and so I’m sure next time I would make these a lot better! But after saying that they are kinda cute and the taste is incredible so I can’t exactly complain..!

I pictured too much and imagined it in my head as something precise and perfectly done, even though this was my first ever attempt at Gingerbread houses that I can recall! So it is actually not a bad effort for first try!

img_6369

So I made a post about it anyway and decided to show you how to make the gingerbread because it is basically foolproof (mmm)…

I found a recipe off BBC Food (which you can find here), propped up my iPad in the kicthen, washed my hands and got baking! I had so much fun making these little dinky houses!

img_6377

Ingredients…

  • 350g Plain Flour
  • 1tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 125g butter
  • 175g light soft brown sugar (I decreased to 100g, still tasted just as good and sweet!)
  • 1 free range egg
  • 4 tbsp golden syrup
  • icing sugar

img_6378

How to make them…

I have adapted the BBC Food recipe linked above a bit here.

  1. Firstly you want to mix the flour, bicarbonate of soda, ginger and cinnamon in a mixing bowl. Then add the butter and blend until the mix looks a bit like breadcrumbs, and finally stir in the sugar!

  2. Lightly beat the egg and golden syrup together, add to the bowl so it combines into a clumpy dough. Tip the dough out, knead for a bit until smooth, wrap in some cling fim and leave to chill in the fridge for about 15 minutes ( I skipped the chilling stage).

  3. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4. Line a baking tray or two with greaseproof.

  4. Either roll out the dough on a floured surface or push to the corners of the baking tray with your hands (I recommend rolling out with a rolling pin so it is even not wobbly like mine!).

  5. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until lightly golden-brown. Finally leave to cool.

img_6363
Before…
img_6364
After…!

The Construction!

You are probably thinking why mine were so badly put together…well I think it was mainly the fact my squares and gingerbread pieces weren’t even- at all. So as long as you get an even thin layer of bread to work with, you shouldn’t find it too difficult!

img_6376

I used a knife and carefully divided up the gingerbread. ( It was very staisfying!)

I mixed water and icing sugar to quite a stiff consistency and used that to glue everything together. I cut squares for walls and rooves and triangles for the sides of the rooves!

img_6368

Ok, so this bit was pretty fiddly-but the smaller the houses the less likely it is to collapse, and so I didn’t find many walls wanted to fall over which was great! πŸ™‚

I built them on a plate and dusted icing sugar all over, as well as adding smarties and off-cut trees in between!

img_6372img_6375

The Result…

You may think they actually look delicious and alright, but I am honestly not that bothered that they don’t look fancy or pretty-it’s what’s on the inside that counts! Plus I was just laughing to myself the whole way through constructing and having a great time building them!

img_6365img_6366fullsizerender44img_6370

I hope you guys had a fun productive day, or just enjoyed reading about my baking fails! Have fun trying out this delicious recipe to get you in the Christmas spirit!

img_6374

If you are better at gingerbreading than me, then feel free to let me know any tips for next time! πŸ™‚

Have a great evening (or whatever time of day it is for you!)

Gingerbread hugs,

img_5609-4

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com


Stuff you may be interested in…

I camera snap on Sony HX400v

I am doing Blogmas-yay!

Disclaimer: I always check links first, but cannot be held responsible for any issues caused.

You are all amazing-keep doing what you love! ❀

18 thoughts on “Mini Christmas Gingerbread Village!

Leave a Reply

