Polymer Clay Charm Tutorials

I am obsessed with these little guys…and polymer clay…! So I have made yet another tutorial on how you can make them too, with a step by step of each stage, with a few tips chucked in aswell! I hope you enjoy making these adorable clay charms…


Hello people all over the world!

I have had a few comments recently saying they would really like to get back into making clay things and getting crafty again-so I had the idea to make a tutorial post on how to make them-and this time I chose an adorable little Nutella jar, alpaca and carrot with a metal loop so it can be a charm on a bracelet, necklace or keyring! Yay!

I actually made a nutella jar necklace for a friend’s Christmas present-so maybe this could also be a gift idea for an upcoming birthday? I know I’m always very last minute panic because you still haven’t found someone a present and they have aghhh person!

This is such an easy DIY also, so why not give it a cheeky go? I have included everything you need and I enjoyed making this post so much, probably because i got to use my tripod which I generously got given for Christmas and today I set it up! All I can say is, wow, the difference it made to the steadiness and sharpness of my pictures! ❀

Hope you enjoooy…


Polymer Clay Nutella Charm

Allow time: 1 and a half hours (this could vary)

img_6600

What you need…

  • Polymer clay (oven bake clay) in Brown, White and Black
  • A Clay tool (or anything sharpish to cut your clay, I used a scraperfoil tool!)
  • Metal loops (for the charm loop)
  • An oven ( :p )
  • Fimo Gloss varnish (or any other clay varnish!)
  • Paintbrush (for applying the varnish)

img_6577img_6581

How to Make it…

To make this little fella, firstly get the ball of brown clay (I use Fimo Soft) and mould it into a nutella jar shape-which is basically a ‘house’ shape or pentagon. This bit was probably actually the bit that took me the looongest because I would get a certain part of it right, then another part would go wonky! Just stick with it and persevere and I’m sure you’ll get the right shape!

img_6578img_6582img_6583

Next you need to roll the white piece of clay and squash it down to make a long rectangle. (You may want to wash your hands to get the brown clay off otherwise it will blend into the white)

img_6584

Then wrap the ‘label’ around the square bit of the jar and turn over to the back and cut off the excess. Don’t forget to smooth the label down on the back and flatten the whole label against the ‘jar’ so it blends in.

img_6585img_6586

Next you need to grab the rest of your white clay to make a lid. Shape it into a smooth sphere and squish between your fingers so it goes partially flat. Oh, and don’t forget to make it in proportion to your jar!

img_6588

Put the lid on to the top of the jar and press it down so it won’t come off again. I used a tool to make lines on the lid too. And finally added black eyes and a teeny mouth.

img_6589img_6591

Before you whack him in the oven, (this is optional) stick a metal loop into the lid so you will be able to hang him on a necklace, bracelet or keyring!

img_6593img_6592

He will need to go in the oven for 20 minutes approximately at 100 degrees. I put them on this little baking tray with a sheet of baking paper. This is the scary bit as you wait for it to cook! πŸ™‚

img_6594

 

Once out and cool, apply a bit of gloss varnish to the entire surface using a paintbrush. Leave to dry for 15-20 minutes. You could add two coats like I did, or just the one. Personally, two gives the extra shine and protection!

img_6597img_6579

And now you can hang him up or just have him for decoration-I think he looks super cute!

img_6599

Polymer Clay Alpaca Charm

Seeing as alpacas are one of my favourite animals (obviously other than rabbits!), I thought why not make one from clay? If I had more time I would have obviously made it neater, but you get the jist… πŸ™‚

img_6615

You will need…

  • Polymer clay (oven bake fimo) in biege, black, brown and dark red
  • Clay tools (or a scraper foil tool…!)
  • A metal loop
  • An oven
  • Gloss varnish
  • Paintbrush to apply the varnish

img_6601

How to make it…

Start off by moulding a body shape out of the biege clay so that it resembles an alpaca neck and body. I also made the face stick out a bit from the neck afterwards.

img_6602

Then you need to make some cute little feet! I had originally made them legs, but then I changed my mind to make them cuter…! I rolled out four balls of clay and put them on the base of the body.

img_6603img_6604

For the details, add a brown nose, eyes, ears, tail and draw a cheeky little smile. I also messed up the body a bit to look like ‘fluff’ or wool. Use the end of a pencil or a clay tool for this.

img_6605img_6606

Then if you’re feeling like it, make a little rectangle of red as a blanket to keep him warm and place it on his back. You can use something sharp to make slits like ‘tassles’ on the blanket too!

img_6607

Finally, add a little metal loop to the blanket if you wish it to be a charm. Cute! I think he should be called Al the alpaca, what do you think?

img_6580

img_6608

Then bake in the oven exactly the same as before! Leave to cool. πŸ™‚

img_6613

Polymer Clay Carrot

This was just as a little extra…

img_6611

 

You will need…

  • Polymer clay (or oven bake clay) in orange and green
  • Clay tool
  • Metal loop (optional)
  • an oven

How to make it…

Firstly roll the orange (or red+yellow) into a ball and then into a carrot shape with a point at one end.

img_6609

Then roll out some dark green, squash it flat and cut out some leaf shapes.

img_6610

Finally attach the leaves to the top of the carrot, cut some horizontal lines on the carrot and pop in the oven for the same as usual. πŸ™‚ If you want to add a charm loop, do so before baking!

img_6611


I hope you lovely lot liked these little short tutorials on how to make some polymer clay charms today! If you liked my little tutorials like this, please let me know and I can easily make some more! Have an amazing day you lovely people whatever you are doing! πŸ™‚

img_6618

I hope this inspired you to get making some little cute clays!

Good luck creating!

img_5609-6

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com


I camera snap on Sony HX400v ❀

28 thoughts on “Polymer Clay Charm Tutorials

Leave a Reply

