DIY Cute Blog Props Ideas!

You’ve always wanted to get that gorrrgeous flatlay or blog photo, right? But you realise you don’t have that expensive purse or rose gold watch or cute cactus print…Well that’s me staring with my mouth wide open at the AMAZING photos out there..! So I set out to make you a mini list of blog props anyone can make themselves for the cayuutest blog pictures!


Hey there everyoone!

Hope you are all having a lovely jubbly Thursday (yes…I did just check to see if it was Thursday…*ahem*) I am back with another DIY *yay* that I think you’re going to like! πŸ™‚

Easy DIY log props

I find it hard to get the perfect blog props to place in the background or foreground of a shot, so I often make my own! Whether you want the perfect photo, but you have literally NO idea what colour scheme to go for, or if you are missing that adorable pastel colour print of a unicorn…I’ve got you well and truly covered..!

fullsizerender47

So I thought I’d share with you a few of my favourites! Enjoooy…

img_6672

Mini Sharpie Tache Pillow

If you aren’t a big fan when it comes to sewing, don’t just scroll straight past this one (yes, I did know you were about to…) because there isn’t actually a great deal of actual sewing, because it is so quick and easy! Plus once you have made it…what could possibly look cuter as a prop?! ❀

moustache-pillow

You will need…

  • Fabric scissors
  • An old canvas bag, or canvas material
  • Needle
  • Pink thread (or whatever colour you feel like, really!)
  • Stuffing
  • Sharpie
  • Fineliner

img_6624

How to make it…

Firstly cut a corner out of the canvas bag so you have a square (or two identical squares), and if you think you will be a bit wobbly, make a card template. The reason I tell you to cut out of the corner is because it will keep the shape together better, and also looks neater for two sides!

I don’t know exactly how big I made the cushion, but it is probably around half a length of a hand? I don’t know if that helps… !!

fullsizerender48
You’re going to have to excuse the lighting…I photographed these all day!
img_6626

Now thread your needle and double it up, and tie a knot at the end. Then start sewing around the edge in whatever stitch you choose, I decided to do blanket stitch (tutorial here) because it looks a lot neater and cute with the pink thread! But if you want a quick explanation of how to do this stitch, you basically stick the needle halfway through the fabric, wrap the length of thread around the needle, and pull the needle through! πŸ™‚

Sew each side, leaving about 2 inches on the last side so you can stuff it.

img_6629img_6630img_6632

If you did it right, it should hopefully look something like…this!

img_6633

Next you’re going to want to grab the stuffing and poke it inside. I made sure it was well stuffed because I think it just looks cuter and overrall more finished!

img_6634

And then you can carry on the blanket stitch to secure it all in! Finally tie a knot at the end.

img_6636img_6637

Well if you don’t like sewing-that bit is finished now! Although I found it quite fun!

Now for the arty bit..! Of course you could choose whateever you like to draw on, but I thought a cheeky tache would look cute, so I pencilled it on roughly in case I made a mistake.

img_6638

I thought for a minute of using acrylic paint, but decided against it because I wanted these DIYs to be really easy and quick, so you can use whatever you wish, but I personally chose sharpie! You just need to fill the shape in with sharpie as bold as you can. πŸ™‚

img_6639img_6640

And finally, using the fineliner, define the edges so it stands out even more! Yay! You now have an adorable mini cushion as a blog prop! ❀

img_6641

img_6642
Finished! πŸ™‚

Copper and white Clay Stars

These tiny little stars almost look like porcelain and are simply a delight!

copper-stars

You will need…

  • Copper Acrylic Paint
  • Fimo Gloss varnish
  • Paintbrush
  • White polymer clay (oven bake clay)
  • Baking tray with greaseproof inside

img_6654

How to make them…

These are so simple, firstly roll the white clay into round spheres (however many you wish to make) and then mould five spikes from them, gradually forming a star shape. Make them quite uneven and ‘rustic’ because they are deliberately not perfect!

img_6644img_6645

Then bake the little guys in the oven at 100 degrees for 20 minutes! They may not even take this long because they’re just so small! ❀

img_6646img_6654

Now time for the painting! I kept one white and the other two painted copper, which I did two coats of before I was happy with the colour.

img_6676

img_6655img_6661

This is totally optional, but once the paint has dried you can varnish the stars so they don’t get damaged and add an even shinier layer!

The varnish should be dry in 20 minutes or less. You can do two coats if you wish!

img_6662img_6663copper-stars

Cute ‘Cartoon Things’ Cards

I am in love with these quirky designs, especially little Mrs succulent! I thought they would look super cute as a background prop for a summery, sunny blog photo too!

cute-succulent

You will need…

  • Scissors
  • Paintbrush
  • Acrylic paint
  • pencil
  • A4 card
  • Fineliner (I used 0.2 Uni pin)

img_6647

How to make them…

To start with, divide the A4 card into four equal rectangles with scissors.

img_66481

Then you need to paint each four of the cards pastel colours (or your colour choices), making sure you cover the entire surface, and leave to dry completely.

What I mixed to get the pastel pink…

img_6649img_6650img_6652

And I also chose an olive/mint green, but it looks like baby blue on the picture.

img_6653

Now everything is dry, you can sketch out the different designs on each! I chose a pineapple, succulent pot, cactus and unicorn! Don’t press too hard with the pencil so you can still rub it out after! I decided to show you the unicorn design…

img_6656img_6660

Then fill it in with white paint (unicorn), applying several layers. ❀

img_6657img_6658img_6659

To finish the painting, add in the other details (I actually used the other end of the paintbrush for the teeniest details! And leave to dry agaain (I know it is boring waiting for paint to dry…)

img_6664

To me, this next stage really makes it!

Using the fineliner, draw around the outlines and add small details such as cactus spikes and faces! The cards look so so much better now, right? πŸ™‚

cute-succulent

Which is your favourite? πŸ˜‰

img_6673


I really hope you lovely people are having a lovely day! I thought I would entertain you with these (what I think are) cute DIYs that you can make for photo backgrounds or just for a gift maybe! πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed making them, so let me know if you like them!

img_6669img_6672

Have a great time crafting!

Unicorn smilees,

img_5609-6

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com


Please contact via this page…You lovely lot are the beest ❀

44 thoughts on “DIY Cute Blog Props Ideas!

      1. Are you kidding? You’re beyond trying, you are SLAYING it! Gahhh I can’t get over how cute your illustrations are and I’m so excited to see another creative blog πŸ˜„

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

