DIY Desk Organisers and Cute Things

I was wondering whether to make another cute DIY, then I remembered it was New Year’s Eve! So instead I made lots of little cute DIYs to organise your desk and some desk buddies too! I enjoyed just crafting all morning, then going for a walk…then back crafting to finish off! I hope you lot enjoy…


Happy New Year’s Eve everyone!

I cannot believe 2017 is now nearly here, and I am so excited for Busy Bee! I have a whole skip load of DIY ideas and posts in my head and I hope you lovely lot are excited to see them all! ๐Ÿ™‚

So today I have been very very busy making these adorable little things to organise your desk or workspace and cheer it up a bit (if it isn’t already…!) because I know how when you start the new year, it’s quite nice to have a tidy, clean space to work and make things!

The good thing about them? I used all my crafty bits and bobs I already had, and most of them are pretty cheap and quick (which is a plus when it comes to the fact you can’t stop buying more and more craft supplies…*whoops*)…

I am basically bubbling to show you lovely lot these DIYs for the New Year, you’ve all been so lovely in the comments about my recent DIYs so a big THANK YOUU! ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

Here’s how to make these cuute Desk Things…


DIY #1

Plants in a pot Desk Buddies!

How cute is the name…? โค These little cuties make your desk look happier, and they’re super easy!

img_6756

You will need…

  • Polymer clay (oven bake clay/fimo)
  • Clay tool (or something like a scraper foil tool)
  • Baking tray with greaseproof
  • Oven
  • Paint (if you want to decorate!)

img_6729

How to make them…

Firstly roll a ball of white clay (or browny orange for a terracotta colour) into a ball, then push your finger into it so it makes a bowl shape.

img_6730

Then from here you can gradually build it up by moulding it between your fingers to make a more pot-like shape. You don’t want too much actual clay inside the pot, so keep working it until you get the right shape!

img_6731

Once you are left with the shape above, grab another piece of clay (preferably the same colour, unless you want to go a bit fancy!) and roll it into a long thin shape. Then squash it flat so you are left with a long and flat strip of clay.

Wrap it around the top of the ‘pot’, this is the rim.

Don’t worry if they look messy, that’s what I was going for! ๐Ÿ˜‰

img_6732

Now you can make the plant to live in the pot!

I chose a cactus, succulent and seedling. To make the cactus I firstly rolled out a short green shape like the one pictured, then made an even smaller one to stick on the side, bending slightly upwards (this is the ‘hand’ or branch of the cactus!).

img_6733

I also then decided to make a brown soil to sit in the pot, because the cactus was quite small otherwise. To do this, simply roll a tiny bit of brown clay into a ball and flatten it with your fingers so it is the same size as the top of the pot!

And then you can stick your little cactus friend into the pot-yay!

img_6734

I also used my tool to add some ‘spines’ or ‘spikes’ to the cactus. Cute!

Lastly, a tiny set of eyes and a dinky mouth can be placed onto his little face! Some other ideas for designs…

img_6736

These little pots should be baked in the oven at 100 degrees for 20 minutes.

img_6737

At this stage you can either decorate the pots with paint, or varnish them with some clay varnish-or just leave them as they are like I did! โค

img_6803

DIY #2

Cardboard Cartons Storage

I got very mathematical with these because I wanted them as accurate as physically possible…! But I’m glad I did because now I’m left with some very cute card storage boxes that will look perfect on my desk! ๐Ÿ™‚

img_6785

You Will Need…

  • A4 card (I just used an offcut)
  • Pen
  • pencil
  • Ruler
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Pens or pencils (if you choose to colour them in…)

fullsizerender50

How to make it…

To start this DIY, grab your card and draw out the net of the carton in pencil using the ruler. This might not even be of much help, but…the height is 6cm, the depth is 4cm, the width is also 4cm, the bit that slopes to the top is 2.2cm, and the diagonal length of the triangles are also 2.2cm.

And it looks a little like this…

img_6744

Next you’re going to want to cut around this net very carefully, cutting exactly on the lines! I know-I am normally terrible at cutting out, so I took extra care…

fullsizerender52

Then (you can use the ruler for this) fold along all the lines neatly!

img_6748

At this point, you may wish to check if it works by folding it up (with no glue). If it resembles a carton shape, you’re all good! It should be pretty self-explanatory how it folds up.

img_6746img_6747

Then unfold this dinky little box so it is almost flat (don’t crush those creases though after all that effort…!). Then you can go ahead and with a pencil decorate the box.

After that you can go over with pen and rub out the pencil! Isn’t that just the most satisying thing? ๐Ÿ™‚

img_6749img_6750

Don’t forget if you wish to colour it in, now’s your chance!

And finally, to fold it up! Glue all the tabs and construct the carton…

If you wish this to be a pencil pot or storage container, leave the back diagonal, top flap open.

img_6751

Yay! All done!

img_6753img_6754img_6738

My personal favourite is the milk carton, what about you?

img_6804

DIY #3

Cute Animal Whiteboards

These were a bit of a sudden *IDEA* moment…but I really like how they ended up! I designed these so you can stick them to the wall or have them placed on your desk or table, perfect for those quick notes you need to SUPER URGENTLY write down!

img_6776

You will need…

  • Cardboard
  • tissue paper/paint
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Pen
  • Pencil
  • Colouring pens/pencils
  • Paper (ordinary printer paper)
  • see-through thin plastic (like packaging from something you bought)

img_6759

How to make them…

To start to make this gorgeous whiteboard, cut a piece of cardboard into a squareish shape in your desired size. Mine are quite small, but big enough to write on.

Now place the cardboard on top of some paper, leaving a border. Sketch with pencil around the square and extend the top for a head. You can also sketch the ears or unicorn horn (or whatever else you are having)…

img_6760

Then use the scissors to carefully cut along the outline you drew and put the cardboard to one side.

img_6762

Now wrap the bit of cardboard in tissue paper, or cover with paint or coloured paper. I gave my pet unicorn a pink tummy to match his ears and nose! โค

To wrap it, place the cardboard on top of the tissue paper and fold over repeatedly so you have several layers around the cardboard. Then fold over the edges as if you were wrapping a present and secure with selotape or glue. ๐Ÿ™‚

img_6763

img_6764
The back
img_6765
The front

Next you need to cut out a square (or rectangle) of plastic that is a bit bigger than your tissue paper square. The plastic is going to act as the ‘whiteboard’.

img_6766img_6767

Secure it at the back with selotape (glue may not be strong enough).

img_6768
The back
img_6769
The front

For the next stage, glue the entire back of the ‘whiteboard’ and stick it straight down to the unicorn (or animal you chose). Press down so it dries stuck.

img_6770

And now is the fun part of decorating!

Firstly, I used a fineliner to draw around the very edge leaving about 1mm border. Then for the details, I drew some cute ears, heart nose, mouth, happy eyes and unicorn horn stripes.

And of course colour in if you wish! Yay!

img_6771img_67731

All finished! โค

Here’s to prove it works when you draw on with a whiteboard marker…

(Ok…so I didn’t exactly have a whiteboard marker…!)

fullsizerender53

 

fullsizerender54
Ta daa!

DIY #4

Moustache Pencil Topper

I just love DIYs with cheeky taches on them, so what better than a pencil topper/gripper to spruce your boring pencils?!

img_6794

You will need…

  • White card
  • Pen
  • Pencil
  • Scissors
  • Glue/selotape (preferably selotape because it is more muscly stronger)
  • A pencil to put it on
  • Colouring pens/pencils/paint

img_6786

How to make it…

First, sketch out your design in pencil, you could always draw lips or an emoji (some ideas…), but I chose a tache!

img_6787

Next cut around your picture with scissors carefully. Leave a tiny border from the pencil.

img_6788

Then go over the tache (or picture) in a fineliner. And add basic details.

img_6789

Now you can colour in and decorate the pencil gripper! I used a brown colouring pencil for this stage…

img_6790

Then you want to cut out a tiny thin rectangle of card that is long enough to reach over the pencil and not stick over the edges.

img_6791

And then attach one side of the strip to the back of the tache, and then place the pencil on top of the back of the tache, then bring the strip over the pencil and stick it down on the other side. I decided to use selotape as well as glue, because it kept popping off!

img_6792img_6793

Check the card is secured properly-and you’re done-phew!

img_6794
The front
img_6795
The back

Yay ๐Ÿ™‚


I hope you all are having a lovely day! And that these DIYs entertained you! Let me know which is your favourite out of the four, and let me know what to make next! โค They are so quick, easy and inexpensive!

I had so much fun with this post-enjoy making them! ๐Ÿ™‚

img_6800img_6801img_6778img_6779img_6784img_6796

Happy crafting everybody and a Happy 2017!

img_5609-6

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com


DIY Mini Piรฑata featured>>Here

59 thoughts on “DIY Desk Organisers and Cute Things

  1. love it! i’m settling in a new place and was looking for some inspirational ideas to decorate my working corner… one of these may materialize in Genova, Italy:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How come every time I look for a DIY here, I end up on your page – There can be only one solution: You must be awesome!
    I really love all of your DIY’s, they are so cute and I just wanna make all of them right now.
    Once again- THANK YOU for sharing, and from one DIY soul to another-you seriously rock ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww you are so so kind! I’m really glad you like my DIYs! Your comment makes me want to make more even more!! Thank you so so much, you don’t know how much that means to me!! โค ๐Ÿ˜‰ โค

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So so kind isn’t the right word. I’m just honest- and I honestly really love everything that you do ๐Ÿ™‚ All your DIY’s are super super cute and I just wanna eat them(well at least the sandwich charm) I hope you keep on doing these things because they make me really happy to read ๐Ÿ™‚ And hey if that comment made you happy and made you smile juuuust a little. Then my day is good too ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

