How to Draw…Under the Sea

I realised I hadn’t uploaded anything to do with my doodles and drawing, so I thought that’s what I’d better do! I have put together a bit of a drawing bootcamp, if you like, to show you guys how I draw, and a cute Under the Sea scene in my style! Enjooy!


Hello my little bees!

I like drawing.

*Correction-*

I am OBSESSED with drawing! πŸ˜‰

img_6958

Whenever I get a spare minute, I’ll grab my sketchbook and doodle or sketch to my heart’s content! Often in my big square kraft notebook (which is now sadly full… 😦 ) I doodle whole pages of just small things to do with a certain theme, for instance, birds, or farm life!

But can I first just say-THANK YOU? I woke up today to 200 followers! When did this happen?! All I can say is you lot are the beeest and a massive hug! It means so much to me that you actually like my random addiction to cute DIYs and mini crafts! Thank youu all! πŸ™‚

img_6905

My cute first page! πŸ˜€

img_6906

You can see a few examples of the kind of themes I would doodle in this sketchbook here…

img_6907
I did this around October/November time, with an Autumnal theme!
img_6908
My favourite is probably the cheeky ostrich, he’s called Ollie!

And this is the pen I most often use, but not always..!

img_6910

I think for me, doodling is a great way to relax and just express all your little cartoonness on to paper! Doodling and sketching can also be a great way to de-stress, but I often just do it for the fun of designing cute characters!

So I wanted to show you all how to draw a few of my favourite animals and creatures from under the sea! I hope you like them, so grab a pen and some paper and get doodling some!


How to Draw Sea Creatures! (in my style)

img_6970

You will need…

  • Fineliner pen (or normal pen, but a thin one is best)
  • Paper or a sketchbook
  • Blue tissue paper (if you want to make the background)
  • Scissors (if you want to cut them out!)

fullsizerender59

Doodle #1

Sid the squid!

I love this character since I first drew him ages ago and for some reason named him, Sid…here’s how to draw him!

Firstly on a rectangle of paper, draw with pen (I use Uni pin 0.1) a shape with a diamond/triangle at the top, and a long body that slightly goes out on the bottom.

img_6911

Now add some long tentacle/legs coming out of the bottom of the first shape. They shouldn’t be too fat or too wide.

Oh, and by the way…If you aren’t too steady, use a pencil, go over it in pen and rub out afterwards! πŸ™‚ Especially if this is the first time you’ve attempted Sid!

img_6912

Then you can add his lovely little eyes and teeny mouth!

What makes Sid the Squid unique, is the distance between mouth and eyes, but feel free to draw them all at the bottom for a younger looking squid!

img_6913

(I’m sorry this first doodle tutorial is sideways, but the others aren’t don’t worry!)

Next, use the scissors to carefully cut around your squid. I only left about a mm or two so it looks neat. πŸ˜‰

img_6915

Ta daa! That’s your very own Sid the Squid done! I think he is one of my favourites, I have a bit of a soft spot for Sid πŸ™‚


Doodle #2

Jelly, the Jellyfish

I am also in love with little Jelly! He’s pretty easy to draw also…

To start, grab a pen and draw an outline of the main body as an arc. I made mine quite square so he looks a bit cuter! πŸ˜‰

img_6916img_6917

And then a ruffly line along the bottom!

img_6918

Now add some tentacles (or whatever they are called..!)

I made them quite skiny (just a single line) because I didn’t want it to look like a baby octopus or something!

img_6919

And then to finish him, draw a tiny mouth and two happy eyes! (To make them happy draw small upside down arcs)

You can also add a small line as a ‘shine’ on it’s top! Cute!

img_6920

Now use the scissors to cut around Jelly like before…done!

img_6921img_6922

Doodle #3

Mini Submarine

This little underwater boat is more detailed, but still pretty easy…

Start by drawing this rectangular oval shape for the main body…

img_6916

img_6929

Next you’re going to want to add a little periscope and a small bit on the front and a big propeller at the back. With the propeller, add some faint lines to show the movement.

fullsizerender58

Then draw on three big windows, and add shine lines. I also put a very small shape on the top (in frnt of the periscope) and a line down the front of the submarine.

img_6931

The final bit of the drawing is an even tinier propeller on the underside, and also a fin in front of that.

img_6932

img_6933

Then cut out again, like before. πŸ™‚

img_6934

That’s the submarine all finished!…

Doodle #4

Mr Whale

This big gentle giant couldn’t look less harmless, and is also a very friendly animal. πŸ˜‰

Firstly, draw an oval shape that slopes down at the top.

img_6935img_6936

Add the big tail that has a skinny bit that leads up to the wide tail with a dip in the middle. This step makes it look a lot more whale-like!

img_6937

Then draw a little happy eye like on the jellyfish, and a tiny mouth leading into the bottom line! Yay-he looks a lot happier now! πŸ˜‰

img_6938

You can’t forget little Mr Whale’s spout on his back! Add some water ‘splashes’ and some lines on the tail. ❀

img_6939img_6940

Finally cut carefully around him…

img_6942img_6941

All done with Mr Whale!

Doodle #5

Cute Shark

This one is another really easy doodle and I made two baby sharks to go with it! Yay!

To start with, draw an oval with a gap at the back and a small shark fin on top!

img_6923img_6924

Next add the tail (it has two parts-the top one being longer slightly) and two lines as gills.

img_6925

Then you can draw on a small triangular fin in the middle of his body and an eye and a mouth. πŸ™‚

img_6926

Finish the same as usual, by cutting carefully with scissors around the outlines!

img_6927

Doodle #6

Baby Seahorse!

I was happy at this cute little fella! This one may be a bit tricky, but give it a go anyway, you’ll get the hang quickly!

Firstly draw a triangular ear and a long ‘S’ shape that curls round at the end (for the tail).

img_6949img_6950

Then draw the head with a long rectangular nose and then a tummy that goes forward quite a bit.

img_6951

Next join up the line from the tummy you just started to end on the curl of the tail.

And a little eye! πŸ™‚

img_6952

Next put in all the tiny details such as the little bumps all down its back and a line down the tummy with horizontal lines across.

img_6953

For the final details draw little bunches of scales (there’s a close up coming up) and a second ear behind the first.

img_6954img_6955

Cut around the edge leaving a tiny border!

img_6956

I think the seahorse is quite cute, I hope you give it a go!

Doodle #7

Steve the Starfish

This iccle starfish looks so cute floating around in the sea scene, and he’s got a cute face! What more could you want?!

First, draw a star shape with round corners (or draw it in pencil using the crossover method and then go over it in pen and rub out).

img_6943img_6944

Then draw a teeny tiny face with teeny tiny mouth!

img_6945

To finish the drawing part, add tiny dots in a line from each point to the middle. πŸ˜‰

img_6946

And (as always..!) use scissors to cut it out if you wish to cut it out!

img_6947img_6948


And of course, because I was feeling fancy, I made a scene with them all in it, using blue tissue paper and I made a few extras! This would be great for making with little ones, because you can move them about and make different scenes! Cute!

img_6970img_6961img_6971img_6968img_6967img_6966img_6965

To mix and match as you wish…!

img_6974

I hope you lot liked reading this doodles post, you probably know how much I love making them, so let me know if you did and I have already written most of tomorrow’s post, so look forward to that!

I think this is such a cute idea, and if you aren’t interested in making it, I’d love to know if you liked watching the how to draw tutorials! I can always make more, with different themes of course! πŸ™‚ ❀

img_6975img_6972

You’re all amazing, thank you so much for sticking with meee!

Happy doodling!

img_5609-6

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com


See previous post heree

56 thoughts on “How to Draw…Under the Sea

    1. oooopppps sorry I didn’t see you got 200 followers! Congratulations, that is awesome! It is actually not a big surprise because of your amazing work!

      Are you in high school? If you are planning to do a job soon or whatever, this blog would act as a great portfolio which you can attach to your resume. This is full on evidence, bro! Evidence of your work, your artefacts! This is great, this blog is professional – a great piece of work for your resume πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. These are so adorable! Definitely gonna doodle some of these πŸ’ŸπŸ’ŸπŸ’ŸMan, even though I just found your blog, it’s becoming one of my favorites! Congrats on 200 … Hehehehe I’m positive that we will see a 500 subbies post in the near future πŸ’ŸπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on 200! You deserve it!

    Oh and SQUEAL, this are so CUTE! You could seriously upload these to your computer and give them out as graphic freebies on your blog or even sell them on something like Etsy or Creative Market! Your doodles are so awesome. I’m not sure how scanning them to your device would work, but others have done it! Ahh, thanks for the tutorials, awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh that’s so nice of you!! Thank you so so much!! Well-i did set up an etsy but I need to actually put things on it-so thank you for the encouragement, I will try and put things up there-it can be my new year’s resolution haha!! Thank you again so much!! ❀ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ So glad you like the doodles!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

