Sandwich Polymer Clay Charm!

What could be cuter than a tiny little sandwich clay….with a face? I am absolutely in love with this new addition to my clay family! I photographed it all aswell, to show you lovely lot every step of how to make him! yay πŸ˜‰


Hey there lovely people!

I decided to give you another cheeky clay tutorial, and this one is such a cutie!

With some little tomatoey and lettucey layers, this charm is so easy to make, so I hope you give it a go!

img_7230


You Will Need…

  • Polymer clay (oven bake clay) in beige, green, red, black
  • Clay tool or scraper foil tool!
  • Metal loops
  • Brown pastels
  • Paintbrush

Optional:

  • Fimo Gloss varnish
  • Texturing tool/toothbush

img_7202

How to make it…

Firstly, to make this little guy, split a bit of beige clay into two parts.

Roll it into a ball and shape into a thick triangle.

img_7204img_7205

Then roughly squash a bit of green clay flat (messy is fine, it’s only lettuce!)

img_72061

Flatten the ‘lettuce’ on to one of the beige triangles, making sure some of it hangs over the edge slightly.

img_7207

Now roll out a few tiny dots of red clay (tomatoes!) and squash them flat.

Then add the tomatoes on top of the lettuce layer. πŸ™‚

img_7208img_7209

And next you can put the final bread layer (the other beige triangle) on top!

I pressed a bit on the top so it all flattened a bit. You can also gently and carefully shape the bread  a bit! ❀

img_7210img_7211

The cute bit – time to add the eyes!

Roll out two teeny pieces of black clay and add them using a finger or tool to the top bread layer!

img_7212img_7213

You can’t forget the teeeny mouth! Roll a long, thin piece of black clay and cut off the length you want. EVER so gently apply pressure to both ends of the strip between two fingers to make a smile shape. πŸ˜‰

img_7214img_7215

Then use the end of a tool, pencil or toothbrush head to add texture to the bread. Gently pat the tool all over to get tiny marks and bumps.

img_7216

And don’t forget to add a tiny metal loop!

img_7217img_7218

Pop him in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes (depending on the size) at 100 degrees!

img_7219

Whilst it cooks, grab some brown and beige pastels and use a scraper tool or sharp tool to scrape the side, so dust falls off on to a piece of paper.

img_7221img_7222img_7223

Then, use a paintbrush (preferably not clogged up with glue :P) to mix it up on the paper and make sure the brush gets a lot on it!

img_7224img_7225

Once out of the oven-let it cool for ten minutes or so. ❀

img_7226

Now dab on the pastel with the paintbrush, applying the most on to the edges (crust)!

The darker the pastel mixture, the darker it will apply.

Make it as messy as you wish! πŸ™‚

img_7227img_7229

(Add Fimo Gloss varnish if you wish to keep it protected more, but honestly, it may not turn out great with pastels on it, but feel free to experiment!)

That’s it for your new little sandwich buddy!

He was super easy to make, and quite effective-hope you enjoyed! πŸ˜‰

img_7232img_7237

I hope you lovely people are having a greeat day today, and happy weekend! Yay! Hope you have a go at this, let me know if you liked it! ❀

img_7234img_7235

Happy Friday hugs!

tabi-signature

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com


Ask me anything in my Q&A!

39 thoughts on “Sandwich Polymer Clay Charm!

  1. This is such a cute starter project. I have the clay and the pasta machine. The thing that stops me is that I heard you aren’t supposed to ‘cook’ your clay in an oven that you cook food in. We do have a small toaster oven. Is there a way to keep this safe? I have wanted to play with this clay for years but this is what has stopped me. Thank you for checking out and liking my blog. Following yours so I can learn more!!! πŸ™‚ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Never tried working with clay but always wanted to (I’m more used to paper crafts) I will definitly do it after this post!
    It is so cute and I really like it.
    Do you have any recommendations for where to buy the clay or do you just buy it at the local craft store?
    Thank you so much for sharing!
    Hugs ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely work with clay – I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it, but I honestly have soo much fun making little animals and creatures!! Thank you so much!

      I would say any art shops or craft stores would sell it if they have a bit of a range of things (so yes any old craft store probably do sell it)! And if not, there are plenty of places online such as Amazon to find clay I think! I hope it helps (a bit haha) 😊❀️Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My sister was going to throw out packs of clay she found and I’m glad I got them now as these look so cute. I’m not sure if it’s polymer clay though. But will definitely make them and hope for the best πŸ˜‚πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

