DIY Fruit Pencil Toppers

Squee! How cute are teeny little fruit pencil toppers?! This tutorial is so so easy and super cute! I feel like you can make so many different variations aswell! I hope you all give this adorable duo a go, because it’s just so fun! yay! πŸ˜‰


Heeeey there everybody!

Whether you want to jazz up your pencils, pens and paintbrushes a bit, practise working with clay or add another cute thing to your collection…these pencil toppers are for everyone! You can make the topper tailored for the pencil, or just switch them up for other cute designs to keep your favourite pencil looking very sweeet! ❀

I made these tutorials of two cute little fruits, but here are some more ideas of what pencil toppers you could make! πŸ™‚

  • Duck (I made one of these and it was so cute and effective!)
  • Donut (I have made a donut but not in pencil topper form, give it a go!)
  • Alpaca (because…they’re awesome!)
  • Rabbit
  • Dog
  • Cat
  • Car
  • An Easter egg!

Here’s how to make these little fruit pencil toppers!…


DIY Fruit Pencil Toppers

img_7478

Apple Pencil Topper

I love this new liddle addition to the family!…

You Will Need…

  • Polymer clay (oven bake clay) in red, green, brown and black
  • Clay tool (or scraper foil tool!)
  • Baking tray with greaseproof
  • Pencils to put them on

Optional. . .

  • Fimo Gloss varnish

img_7453

How to Make it. . .

Firstly roll a piece of red clay into a smooth sphere-like shape.

img_7454

Then get a teeny tiny piece of brown clay and mould it in to a stick.

You can roll it gently between two fingers to get the right shape until you get a ‘stalk’ like shape!

img_7455img_7456

Next you can attach the stalk on top of the red blob!

img_7457img_7458img_7459

Now you need to make a green colour by adding a tiny piece of black clay to the green (because green Fimo tends to be very bright) until you get the right shade for an apple leaf.

With it, shape the clay into one little leaf shape and attach one end to the stalk/apple…

img_7460img_7461img_7462img_7463

At this stage yours should hopefully look a little bit like this!… πŸ™‚

img_7464

If you want to make the apple cuter, then make some tiny little eyes out of black clay and press them gently on to the front of the apple!

img_7465

Don’t forget the little smile!. . .

img_7466

Nearly there..!

So now grab the pencil you want it to fit to, and make a hole the same size of the end of the pencil at the base of the clay.

Top tip! be very careful not to deform the clay as you make the hole whilst holding it, it tends to wobble and go out of shape at this stage!

img_7467img_7468

You can then pop the little clay on to the baking sheet and stick it in the oven for 20 minutes at 100 degrees! Don’t forget to let them cool afterwards…

img_7481


Pinyapple Pencil Topper

(And no, that isn’t a typo! ❀ πŸ˜‰ )

You Will Need . . .

  • Polymer Clay (I use Fimo Soft) in yellow, green and black
  • Clay tool (or another substitute)
  • Baking tray with greaseproof
  • Pencils to put it on!

Optional…

  • Fimo Gloss Varnish

img_7453

How to Make it. . .

To start, roll a bit of yellow clay so it is soft and workable.

img_7469

Then make it into the pineapple shape, so make a very subtle point at the top end. (a bit like a raindrop shape)

img_7470

Then make the desired green clay colour, and make a few little spike/triangle shapes out of it!

img_7471img_7472

With the spikey leaves, attach them to the top of the yellow shape and you can gently curl the points outwards a bit to make them look more ‘leafy’!

img_7473

You should be left with something along the lines of this!…

img_7474

Next you can make two tiny little black eyes like before and press them on to the front bottom of the pineapple!

img_7475

And then you can add a tiny little mouth from black clay!

img_7476

Then, like before, use the pencil/paintbrush/pen you want to make a hole in the base. For this pineapple, I used the end of a paintbrush because that’s what I wanted the topper for – so that’s why it’s a bit smaller!

img_7477

Finally you can bake the Pinyapple in the oven at 100 degrees for 20 minutes or less (depending on the size! πŸ™‚

img_7481

At the ends of both tutorials, feel free to cover the toppers with gloss varnish to give them extra defence from scratches or just a glossy look!


img_7479

Yay! I’m pretty sure your pencils have never looked more unique and personal! that’s what I love about this DIY, the fact you can make it to whatever you like, and style it how you want! ❀ πŸ˜‰

img_7484

I hope you are all having a lovely day, and maybe you liked this post so are thinking of giving it a go? I would love to hear! ❀ πŸ™‚

img_7480

Fruity hugs!

tabi-signature

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com

39 thoughts on “DIY Fruit Pencil Toppers

  1. It’so cute πŸ˜› I want to do it! You’ve got lots of good ideas πŸ˜‰

    Btw, now I’m in shool πŸ˜€ I have already had a competition from English. I think I did it well but exercises of culture were quite difficult… I hope I will have a good score πŸ˜‰
    I am sitting in the corridor cause my Polish teacher told me I mustn’t stay in class – my friends are writing a test from the “Romeo and Juliet”, I will write it tomorrow, haha πŸ˜€
    I visited your blog because I am so bored… πŸ˜‚

    The bell rang, so bye!

    Have a nice day!! 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you so much! I hope you give it a go πŸ˜‰ haha aw I’m so glad you had a look at my blog as a distraction!! I hope you have an amazing score too! I hope you have a nice day too Ann! ❀ πŸ˜‰ Thanks for writing these comments!

      Like

Leave a Reply

