DIY Cactus Photo Display

Recently I have been obsessing over cactuses (oh ok, cacti!) just because I love drawing them with cute iccle faces! So when I came up with an idea of how to display your photos, in a cute and stylish way, I couldn’t wait to share it with you all!


Hey there everyoone!

Whenever I see gorgeous DIYs that are super easy to make, and transform your workspace into a cute and modern look, I simply squeal in delight! I just love easy little ways to make a wall look so much more ‘you’ and personal!

So of course today’s DIY is this adoorable trio of cactuses, which you can hang polaroids and photos of all your memories from! I love this idea, and I hope you give it a go! πŸ™‚

Here’s how to make a DIY Cactus Photo Display Board . . .


DIY Cactus Photo Display

No more blu-taccing your photos scruffily to the wall with this little make!

img_7682img_7675

You Will Need . . .

  • Cereal box (or card)
  • Scissors
  • Paintbrush
  • Acrylic Paint (in white, blue, yellow, brown and red)
  • Pencil
  • Pen (I used a fineliner)
  • String
  • Tape/blu tac

img_7645

How to Make it . . .

First, use the scissors to carefully cut a medium size rectangle (about the size of a book cover).

img_7646img_7647

Use a paintbrush to apply white acrylic paint to the entire surface of one side of the cardboard – I used the grey side, so the cereal box doesn’t show through!

img_7648img_7649img_7650img_7651img_7652

Then draw (in pencil) the outline of the shapes you want faintly. I chose three little cacti in pots, all different sizes!

But of course, feel free to choose whatever objects you like, maybe you want to make fruits, animals or moustaches!

img_7653img_7654img_7655img_7656

Using a skinny paintbrush, mix some dark green paint (A little bit of blue + yellow) and apply it very carefully to the first cactus. Every time you switch to the next plant, add a tiny bit of yellow or white acrylic to the green paint mix to get different tones of green! πŸ™‚

Also, I made mine quite scruffy looking, because when you fineline it, I think it looks more effective!

img_7657img_7658

Now to make their little pots!

Mix a liddle bit of brown, with a liddle bit of white paint to get the desired pot colour! You could even try adding in a teeny bit of red, for a terracotta look!

Apply the brown paint to each three pots!

img_7659img_7660img_7661

And then, once all the paint is dry, fineline the outlines of the pots, and cactuses.

img_7662img_7663

Then add in the finishing touches – cute little happy eyes, mouths, spines, and the flower on the middle one. Yay!

img_7664

Then you want to cut three bits of string (they don’t have to be equal).

Stick a tiny bit of selotape or blu tac to the ends and stick all three to the back of your cactus board! (Don’t forget to make sure all the paint is completely dry!)

img_7665img_7666img_7667img_7668

And of course, gather your photos or polaroids and do the same by sticking the ends of the string to the back of the photos! ❀

img_7669

img_7670
All finished! πŸ˜‰

img_7671

Personally, I am so happy with this design! I love painting cacti, the effect it gives once you outline is so satisfying! Now you can hang this board up on a wall to display all your memories in one place! πŸ™‚

img_7684img_7676img_7683

I also love the fact you can change up the photos you want to display every now and again…

img_7679img_7680img_7673

I really hope you guys like this cute DIY idea, and maybe you would like to give it a go? Let me know if you do! I am so happy with it, and it is staying up on my wall for a looong time – I just know it! πŸ˜‰

diy1

 

 

Have an amazing weekend, and I’ll see you all again sooon!

Prickly hugs,

tabi-signature

https://busybeediy.wordpress.com

46 thoughts on “DIY Cactus Photo Display

Leave a Reply

