DIY Mini Animals in Boxes!

Hellooo lovely people!

Erm…- who wouldn’t want a little pet in a cardboard box?! I love these adorable little animals and how they turned out, so I was so excited to share how to make them with you all! I made a little beige alpaca, a blue cat and a pink bunny! This trio looks very cheeky, so I have to keep an eye on them… πŸ˜‰

If you’re confident at sewing, enoy this little tutorial, if not, or you are a bit younger, then ask someone to help! πŸ™‚

Aand here’s how to make these cute little things!…


DIY Mini Animals in Cardboard Boxes

This tutorial requires a liddle bit of sewing, but it’s simple stuff! ❀

FullSizeRender(391)

You Will Need…

  • Material (I used felt in beige/cream, pastel blue and pastel pink+teeny bit of black)
  • Scissors (fabric ones are best!)
  • Needle
  • Thread
  • Stuffing
  • Black sharpie/permanent marker
  • Cardboard
  • Scissors (normal ones!)
  • Tape/glue

FullSizeRender(369)

How to Make it!

To start, you’re going to want to cut out carefully the pieces of fabric. I am showing you how to make the alpaca one here. So I cut out two body shapes, two little black eyes and two little ear shapes.

FullSizeRender(370)

Now, thread the needle with black thread. If you’re not sure on how to do this, click here! With the needle, carefully sew on the eyes wherever you want them on one of the body pieces. I just used a few tiny random stitches!

After you’ll also want to tie off the thread on the back. Click here to learn how you do this. ❀

FullSizeRender(371)FullSizeRender(373)

Then I also used a small backstitch to sew a mouth in between the eyes!…

And knot off again! (ignore the messy back of mine, the thread got very knotted haha…)

FullSizeRender(374)FullSizeRender(375)

To sew around the outside of the cheeky alpaca, thread a needle with some cream thread (I’m sure you could try and use glue for this stage) and use an overstitch or blanket stitch to sew all the way around the edge…

Remember to start at the base, and sew all the way around, include the ears when you get to the right place, but leave a gap at the bottom to stuff it.

FullSizeRender(376)FullSizeRender(377)FullSizeRender(378)

Next, get a little bit of stuffing and start to poke it inside, I would try not to inderstuff it or put too much in or it might burst!

FullSizeRender(379)

And you can sew up the base with a simple stitch to finish the alpaca! I also made the cat and the bunny!

FullSizeRender(380)FullSizeRender(381)

To make the box…

Firstly, get a thick (ish) bit of cardboard and fold the edges to make a cardboard box. I used a ruler to make the creases more accurate too, and you can use scissors to carefully cut slits so you can construct the box.

FullSizeRender(382)FullSizeRender(383)

Use some tape on the inside of the box to finish it. I also cut two rectangles of cardboard and stuck them on the sides as flaps!

FullSizeRender(384)FullSizeRender(385)FullSizeRender(386)

Then what you want to do is get a permanent marker and draw a little arrow on the front, and you can add the word ‘UP’ too if you like!

FullSizeRender(387)FullSizeRender(388)FullSizeRender(389)

And then once the little animals are inside…you have your own little mini animals in boxes! How cute and pastel are they? My new little friends are going to look perfect on my desk or somewhere in my room!

FullSizeRender(391)FullSizeRender(393)FullSizeRender(394)FullSizeRender(395)

I hope you all enjoyed this little DIY! I am obsessed with these three! Do you lovely lot have any other ideas for animals in boxes? I’d love to heear! ❀

FullSizeRender(396)DIY Mini cute animals in boxes

I hope you all have an amazing eveningg!

Cute little hugs,

Tabi Busy Bee (2)

Follow Busy Bee on Bloglovin’! ❀

101 thoughts on “DIY Mini Animals in Boxes!

  1. Cute pink animal + cute blue animal + cute beige animal + cute box = (hang on this is really hard…not)…CUTENESS OVERLOAD!! My favourite one is the beige. I mean its ears are so CUTE (there is no other word that can describe it)!!!! Definitely going to have to try this (I also need to get a larger vocabulary! πŸ˜€ #Cute!!) !

    Liked by 2 people

  2. These are literally THE CUTEST!!! I’m definitley going to try this once I get some fabric! MY favourite one was the pink. It was just tooooo cute. I love all your pictures; some of them are really funny (the beige and pink with the box on their head!) and they just look really bright cool and cute and professional looking!! Another great diy! The only thing I hate is the wait between one blog post and another! Though I guess there’s not really much you can do about that!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awwwh haha thank you so so muhc, that honestly means a lot!! *gosh picking comment of the week is going to be hard this time…!* I really hope you make these little cuties!! I’m so glad you like the photos too! Haha I’m sorry you have to wait for blog posts I like them to be as good as possible lol!! Thank you so much for stopping by! xxxx ❀ πŸ˜‰ p.s I love that photo too!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. SO CUTE! I tried to sew my daughter a stuffed animal once and it turned out horrid… my husband named it “scare bear” because it was so deformed HAHA! These however look like they are simple and abstract enough to be up my alley! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are too cute and look so professional! They would make great gifts. The cat one you made could be put in a box that looks like cat litter (now I’ve said it it sounds like a weird ideaπŸ˜‚) great post! πŸ’—

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem 😊 I saw that you requested to follow my private blog, but that’s actually my old blog-I’m in the process of changing the hosting for my blog and moving my followers to the new hosting at arrowanddot.com …I’m having lots of technical difficulties haha but hopefully you should be able to follow that blog

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

