8 Ways to Craft on a Budget + DIYs!

FullSizeRender(516)

Happy Friday beautiful people!

I am super happy to say this post is a collab with the lovely Fleur, from Simply Fleur, who has done a similar post, which means DOUBLE AWESOME TIPS. Go follow her amazing fashion, lifestyle, beauty blog that I love so much, and read her post after!

I think we can all say it can be so annoying when you want to make so many things, so many DIYs, but you simply can’t afford a ton of paint and materials, soo what do you do? Well, I decided to create this little help list to give you a few tips on how to save where you really can! I hope it helps you get creative no matter what! πŸ˜‰

FullSizeRender(514)

1. Use what you’ve got!

It’s easy to think- YUP I NEED THAT RIGHT NOW when you’re shopping for crafty bits, but I find it so useful to actually think first, whether it will be a) useful for more than one thing b) it is worth the money and c) am I just buying this because it’s sooo gorgeous?! So have a goood old rummage through your old crafty boxes, and see if you have anything left that you forgot about.

2. Use stuff sparingly (and I mean it)

I’m looking at you PVA! I use waay too much of the stuff, when you can easily water it down, and need hardly any! By adding a teeny few drops of water and mixing, it will not only dry quicker, but save you money…so why not? Also, use a glue spreader instead of a brush so no glue is absorbed, and therefore wasted! Another thing you could do to save would be to go through your old pen stash (because we both know you have a pile of unused pens somewhere…) and find hidden gems that still work perfectly- use them!

3. Upcycle, Recycleee

This has to be up there with the best tip! Using something ol-

FullSizeRender(517)d to make a DIY out of is the best idea, meaning you can be good to the planet, save

you having to go out and buy stuff, and make something adorable at the same time! So don’t throw away that milk bottle or foil, make something from it!

You could make some storage clutter boxes from yoghurt pots, cereal boxes and jars.

4. Cut open Acrylic tubes

You may have already heard of this one, or in a similar way, but if you get to the point where you have to use all your muscles just to squeeze the TINIEST blob in the world out of a paint tube, use scissors to cut the other (flat) end, and squeeze the final bit out super easily! This hack saves you a lot of paint. But remember to throw away the metal tube afterwards…it will just dry up!

FullSizeRender(513)

6. Use the 4 Main Materials!

Most of my DIYs on my blog are easy to make because they require such few strange materials, so most things you already have lying around! As long as you have 1. cardboard/paper 2. Scissors 3. glue and 4. paint you basically can make anything! Ok…well not really true, but you can make a lot.

7. Buy cheaper dupes

Sometimes, you may be surprised at how much there ISN’T a difference between a branded pack of pens and some shop’s own versions, and when it turns out that the dupes are half the price, go for them! If you want to save money when crafting, don’t always be fooled that the expensive stuff is best.

And if it’s good enough for Pusheen, well…

FullSizeRender(512)

8. Find some DIY Ideas!

I have so many tutorials on cheap and adorable DIYs that will also save you money, so here is a list of crafts you can try: DIY stickers, YAY Desk Plants, Cactus Photo Display and a Mini Pinata Pencil Topper! If you’re still stuck for ideas, have a search through books, magazines and online to find some cheap DIY ideas.

I hope you are all now ready to go out there and spend soo much less, but make more! I love coming up with ways of saving money on crafting, so I hope you liked this list I came up with! Which is your favourite tip? ❀

I hope you are all having a lovely day, and have you been over to Fleur’s blog yet? ❀

Ways to craft on a budget hacks cheap DIY

Do you have any tips on how to craft on a budget?

Cute little hugs,

Tabi Busy Bee (2)

Follow Busy Bee on Bloglovin’! ❀

49 thoughts on “8 Ways to Craft on a Budget + DIYs!

  1. This is really helpful! I always feel really sad when I find lots of people doing Diys on youtube with lots of items that you have to go and buy specially. One of the reasons I love your blog is because your Diy supplies are already in most people’s homes! I checked out the Diys you linked and my fav has to be the Cactus Photo Holder- I tried it and it looked amazing!

    Keep being awesome!
    Bella xx

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Aw thank you, that really has made my day! that’s so true – and I’m so glad you like the DIYs! Yay! I bet it looked so awesome!! Thank you soo much for commenting that! ❀️❀️😘

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome list, Tabi! I love DIYing for sure, but man, it empties one’s wallet so quickly lol. I’m definitely going to consider your tips next time I go to make something! Especially the one about using what I already have – I tend to go all out and stock up on all new stuff. I can definitely save more money by using what I’ve got, too! xx

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

